When Life Gives You Lemons

I believe that if life gives you lemons, you should make lemonade….And try to find somebody whose life has given them vodka, and have a party.  – Ron White

We all have those days from time to time with little pockets of suckiness in them.  Today was my day.  Oh, for the most part it was a good day, except for the rain –  black sky, thunder, and wind blowing the it all around in sheets. 

It was still raining when I left work for the day.  Our parking lot is about 100 yards from our building, which turns into 100 miles when it’s pouring.  Of course I had no umbrella, so I sprinted towards my car hugging my purse and my Jethro sized lunch bag, punching the remote unlock button the whole way.  Upon pulling open the car door I saw that the convertible top had been leaking and the driver’s seat was soaking wet.  By the time I climbed in, tossed my bags into the passenger seat, and shut the door, all of the windows were completely fogged over.   I started the car, turned the defrost on full blast, took a deep breath, and waited a few minutes for the window to clear.  As I drove I noticed the windows were not clearing as they should and I realized the little “on” light was blinking and there was no blowing going on.  So I turned it off.  Waited.  Turned it on again.  Nope.  So I switched to air conditioning.  That worked for all of 30 seconds then it too stopped. 

So for 12 miles I’m driving home sitting in a soaking wet seat in a mobile sauna, hair plastered to my head, eyes squinting, chin and both hands propped on top of the steering wheel, with the window cracked just enough to breathe and let more water into my car.  And all this time I’m moaning and groaning and fussing and cussing and just basically commiserating with myself on how much my life is sucking at that very moment.

Then I see a man.  With 7 grocery bags. On a moped.  In this downpour.  Cars flying past spraying him with even more water.

I made lemonade when I got home.

2 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Lemons

Leave a comment